Lunar Tech Misadventures 005
Random Blog Improvements

2023-07-27

Robots.txt

So, first off I decided to just block everything because apparently Google will now use your website contents to train AI. Then I thought about how this blog might just have some information useful to someone eventually, so I added an exception for the web archive. But then I decided I don't want the about-me page specifically to be archived ever. In the end, I thought that making the blog indexable by search engines is a good thing though, so I changed it from allowing web archive to allowing everything.

In any case, for now I ended up with this robots.txt file:

user-agent: *
disallow: /about-me
disallow: /about-me.html

Atkinson Hyperlegible Font

I recently learned about the Atkinson Hyperlegible font made by the Braille Institute. The font focuses on being more readable for low-vision users, and has a good distinction between characters such as I, i, l, 1.

I can attest that for me this font makes things easier to read (especially noticeable without glasses) compared to standard sans-serif fonts. I also overall like how the font looks, which I cannot say for fonts like OpenDyslexic. Thus, I decided to replace this website's previous choice of Overpass font with Atkinson Hyperlegible.

While at it, I also set the monospace font to Fantasque Sans Mono, just because it's one of my favorite monospace fonts.

RSS Feed

No more CDNs

All fonts and stylesheets are now hosted on Neocities.